EventsFacebookTwitterInstagramNewsletterArchivesPhoto GalleryCalendarChannel 12

William Smith appointed as Justice by Pittsford Town Board

March 6, 2011

Attorney William A. Smith, Jr. was appointed Town Justice on March 1, 2011 by the Pittsford Town Board. Smith will fulfill the remaining term of Justice Fred Gallina who recently announced his plans to retire after 23 years of dedicated service to the Town of Pittsford.

"We interviewed several capable and distinguished candidates for the position of Town Justice," said Pittsford Town Supervisor Bill Carpenter. "Ultimately, Bill Smith stood out because of his substantial experience as an attorney and his outstanding capabilities. Bill has also compiled a strong record of service to the Town of Pittsford as both a Town Councilman and as County Legislator, giving him a unique understanding of our community, our families, and our values."

Sandy Zutes, Deputy Supervisor, added “Bill Smith will make a remarkable judge. His command of the law, his ability to articulate the issues along with his innate sense of people and situations will allow him to be the type of judge that Pittsford has long been accustomed.”
William Smith is well known to the Pittsford community. He served on the Pittsford Town Board in 1996 before he was elected to the Monroe County Legislature. He served in the Monroe County Legislature from 1996 to 2007 where he served as majority leader for 5 years.

Smith has an extensive legal background. A graduate of Yale University and the University of Virginia Law School, Bill Smith has been practicing law for 26 years, in both private practice and an in-house counsel. Smith said “It will be my privilege and honor to serve as a Justice for the Town of Pittsford. I have been proud to represent the Pittsford community as both a legislator and Town Board member. As Justice, I will be committed to upholding the law and promise to apply fairness, impartiality, compassion and firmness in each decision.”

Smith was appointed at the March 1st Town Board meeting and was sworn in on March 3rd.