

Proclamation

in celebration of Women's Suffrage and the 19th Amendment Centennial

Electes, the 19th Amendment to the United States Constitution was ratified in 1920, giving women one of the most fundamental rights of citizenship – the right to vote; and

- **Electron**, the women's suffrage movement was launched at the Seneca Falls Convention in 1848, where the Declaration of Sentiments proclaimed that "all men and women are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain inalienable rights, that among these are life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness" and demanded that all women be afforded "the equal station to which they are entitled" and the "inalienable right to the elective franchise," and
- Hereas, in 1869, a new group called the National Woman Suffrage Association was founded by Elizabeth Cady Stanton and Susan B. Anthony; this group began the fight for a universal-suffrage amendment to the U.S. Constitution; and
- Pittsford, formalized in 1902 by the founding of the Pittsford Political Equality Club; and
- **Thereas**, on August 18, 1920, the 19th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution was ratified and on November 2 of that year, millions of women across the United States voted in elections for the first time; and
- **Exercas**, the full inclusion of women as citizens and guaranteeing the protection of women's rights are essential for the success of democracy; and
- **Dow, Therefore, Be It Brown**, that the members of the Pittsford Town Board recognize and proclaim the value of celebrating on this day the 19th Amendment Centennial Anniversary and further recognize and celebrate, in ongoing commitment, the spirit, principles and efforts espoused by the Women's Suffrage Movement; and
- **Be it Jurther Enown**, that this proclamation was declared adopted by the order of the Pittsford Town Board on August 18, 2020 on the centennial of the 19th Amendment's ratification.

William A. Smith, Jr., Supervisor

Kate Bohne Munzinger, Deputy Supervisor

Kevin S. Beckford, Councilmember

Cathleen A. Koshykar, Councilmember

Stephanie M. Townsend, Councilmember